Coweta County

Coweta County is one of the 28 counties in Georgia that are part of the Atlanta metropolitan area. Its county seat is Newnan, which also happens to be one of the fastest-growing cities in Georgia. Over 100,000 people call Coweta County home, living within ten cities and towns located within its 446 square miles of land.

Newnan is a city of over 20,000 residents. Like many Georgia towns, it prospered as a producer of cotton for over a century before the Civil War. Newnan shares a rich history with other Coweta County towns such as Sharpsburg, where the Battle of Antietam was fought. This area of the state was spared much of the damage done by the War, and thus still retains much of its spectacular antebellum architecture.

Many of the towns within Coweta County are small, charming historic places where visitors can still enjoy the flavor of the old South. Moreland, Corinth and Haralson are tiny hamlets that have retained their small town atmosphere despite the rapid growth of the surrounding areas. The variety of environments in Coweta County reflect the changes that the Atlanta area has experienced in the recent past.

Coweta County is strategically located within easy distance of the capital city of Atlanta, yet it has its own personality and much to offer visitors and potential residents. Whether you are looking for a family oriented place in which to put down roots, or an authentic piece of the real South, the cities and towns of Coweta County will not disappoint.