Fayette County

Fayette County, Georgia is located south of the city of Atlanta, within an easy distance of the city itself. It was named for the Marquis de LaFayette, a French nobleman who financed an army that helped George Washington defeat the British during the Revolutionary War. It comprises about 200 square miles of land and is home to almost 100,000 residents.

Fayette County contains two cities and three towns. Fayetteville, the county seat, was established in 1823. Today, its history and vibrant community life attract visitors and residents alike. The towns in Fayette County are also notable for their distinct personalities. One of Fayette County's most desirable residential communities is Peachtree City, which consists of planned residential, commercial and natural environments.

The community of Tyrone has a history that dates back to the early 1800s, when Irish farmers purchased land from native tribes and started growing cotton and other crops. The remaining towns of Brooks and Woolsey were settled on Creek Indian land, and are known for their family-oriented environments and pastoral, wide-open spaces. The communities of Fayette County embody the slower pace and relaxed lifestyle of historic southern Georgia.

No trip to the Peach State would be complete without a visit to Fayette County. With its award-winning residential communities, scenic natural beauty and historic charm, the cities and towns within it create a truly special place to live, work and vacation. The county comprises a wide variety of lifestyles and offers something unique for everyone